Staying Healthy During the Holidays

Hi, I hope you are all having a great day and getting ready for the weekend!

I wanted to start off my blog with something that is very important during this time of year and share some of my favorite tips for staying healthy during the holiday season. We all love to indulge every now and then, and there is so much more temptation during this time of the year. The last thing we want to happen is for it to be January and we are sad about the holidays being over AND 10 pounds heavier.

Christmas Tree

Keep in mind, I am NOT a nutritionist, so if you follow my advice and still have trouble buttoning your skinny jeans in January, sorry!

1. Schedule your workouts. Treat your workouts like an important meeting. You wouldn’t cancel a meeting with your boss, so why should you cancel a meeting with yourself. Even better if you can schedule them for the morning. That way, you can check it off your to-do list and not have to worry about making excuses later on. Also, if you start off your day with a calorie-burning session, you will be more motivated to make healthy choices throughout the rest of the day!

2. Chose one or two items to indulge in. When you are at a holiday party, don’t grab the first (and second…and fifth) hors d’oeuvre you see. You may end up stuffing yourself on mediocre food and then see that one treat you had been craving all night, but be too full to enjoy it. Instead, take a look around and see what your options are, then choose just a couple items that look particularly appetizing.

Grace and Sarah Cookies

3. Get back on track with a healthy breakfast. It is inevitable that we will over-indulge at some point during the holiday season (I will probably do so way more than I care to admit). The morning after doing so, it is so easy to do one of two things: give up on your healthy eating and continue making unhealthy choices or beat yourself up over your calorie-laden meal from the night before and try to compensate by restricting your calories. It is important that you start the next morning with a well-balanced breakfast. Even better if you also have time to squeeze in a quick workout before starting your day. You will feel much better and be able to get right back on track!

4. Just say no. This one is MUCH easier said than done (I am still trying to tackle this concept). If you say no once, you will build up your willpower and have a much easier time saying no in the future. You don’t have to say no to every cookie or glass of eggnog that is offered to you, but you also don’t have to always say yes.

Christmas Cookies

5. Choose your drinks wisely. Holiday parties are filled with festive punches and ciders that are all so tasty, but filled with sugar and calories! It is okay to indulge in a glass of punch or eggnog (luckily, I hate the taste of eggnog, which probably saves me hundreds of calories!), but try to keep it to just one (I know, seems impossible). If you would like to continue drinking after enjoying a glass of something festive, switch to red wine or a vodka soda.

To help you stay motivated, I would like to leave you with a quote I read on The Hungry Runner Girl, “WINTER MILES BRING SPRING SMILES.” This is true not only about running, but also any workout or healthy choices you make during the holidays. Your bikini-wearing self will thank you in the spring.

And now I would love to hear from you!

What are some of your favorite ways to stay healthy during the holidays?

What is your favorite holiday treat?

Do you like eggnog?

4 thoughts on “Staying Healthy During the Holidays

  1. Hi! I like your first post – congrats, new blogger 😉 I have a comment for ya…

    First of all, I HATE EGGNOG so I’m glad we have something in common. Also, I know all about that holiday-treat-temptation and by golly I WILL RESIST (wow I just lied). Side note – I am going out of town for the holidays… Any ideas how to keep a healthy schedule when I’m out of my element and in a sub-zero climate? HELP. MUST NOT GET FAT. #blimp

    Like

  2. Hi Sarah! Congrats on your first post. These are all really great tips to keep in mind during the holidays! I’m the person who goes back for triple helpings of appetizers… and essentially eats a meal before the meal. It’s bad.

    To keep fit I workout a bit more during the holidays so that I can work off all the extra food I am eating.. and when I know I have a holiday party or event coming up I try to eat really healthy all the other days of the week to make up for the poor judgment I know I’ll have the day of.

    I’m originally from the States, but just moved to Australia a few months ago, this will be my first holiday season Down Under. Fortunately for my waistline, they don’t sell eggnog down (at least not that I have found, or that my friends have heard of).. which is super unfortunate for me since I love eggnog! I’m thinking I might make it myself (eek!) just to give people a taste.

    Like

      • Hi Andrea! Melanie Raimo is one of my best friends and she told me to check out your blog because you have lots of cool recipes, so I am excited to read more! You’ll have to keep me updated on how your first holidays in Australia go. And let me know if you find a good eggnog recipe, maybe I would like it more if it were homemade 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

