Avoiding the Post-Holiday Slump

Happy Monday! I hope you all had a great weekend!!

IMG_0755

Let’s be honest, this is the real reason we all hate Mondays.

January has always been my least favorite month because it means the holidays are over and I just feel like nothing exciting happens during this month. Anyone else feel this way too?! This year I’m determined to not be affected by the post-holiday slump, so I’ve compiled a list of things I’m looking forward to this month!

1. Starting grad school. I’m a little nervous for this, but also super excited to start this new chapter in my life.

2. Start training for my half marathon. I am running the Gasparilla Half in February, so I suppose it’s time I start training haha. I’m actually considering signing up for the Michelob Ultra Amber Challenge, it’s a 5k and 15k on Saturday and the half on Sunday. Sounds intense, but I think I’m up for the challenge! My running has been seriously slacking during the holidays so I’m excited to have a goal that I am running toward to motivate me a little more.

3. One of my BEST FRIENDS from college, Anna, is coming to visit!

IMG_0707

We’re a little ridiculous when we are together and like to wear matching outfits haha. She also shares my intense love of Mexican food, so clearly. We’re destined to be best friends. And she will be here for Gasparilla (see below) so I’m double excited!!

4. Gasparilla. This is my favorite Tampa holiday/tradition. If you are from Tampa, you understand how awesome it is! If you aren’t familiar with it, the best way to describe it is Mardi Gras but with pirates. The morning starts with the pirate ship invading Tampa Bay, followed by the boat parade. Then there is a huge parade down Bayshore Boulevard full of elaborate floats, tons of beads, and drunk pirates.

Here is a little history behind it:

Gasparilla…the pirate. The name and foundation of Tampa’s traditional Gasparilla Carnival come from legendary pirate Jose Gaspar, “last of the Buccaneers,” who terrorized the coastal waters of West Florida during the late 18th and early 19th century. Gaspar, given to calling himself “Gasparilla,” served as a lieutenant in the Royal Spanish Navy for five years until 1783 when, upon seizing command of a Spanish sloop-of-war, he with his fellow mutineers set sail for the Florida straits. And so the young Spanish aristocrat-turned-pirate began an adventurous life as outlaw of the sea.

Gasparilla..the extravaganza. When Jose Gaspar died, he supposedly left an untold fortune in buried treasure somewhere along the Florida coast. Though that treasure has never been discovered, the story of the swashbuckling Gasparilla was unearthed and his memory revived in 1904 when Tampa’s social and civic leaders adopted the pirate as patron rogue of their city-wide celebration.

Marissa and me at Gasparilla last year:

IMG_0757

What are you looking forward to most this month?
How do you cope with the post-holiday slump?

Leave a Reply

